Review on Monet Minerals

14 06 2009

So, this post has been delayed. I’m very sorry for that. I’ve just been busy since I started working [Another blog will be posted on that.].

As you can see with the title of the blog, it’ll be a review on Monet Minerals. I’ve tried mineral makeup before [bare minerals], but I never really got into it. I found out about Monet Minerals, because they were following me on Twitter. I’ve never heard of them, and was glad that they were following. I checked out the site www.monetminerals.com and I was impressed with the simplicity of the site. As I was browsing, I stumbled upon the foundation section. What I really liked about Monet Minerals is the fact that they have a shade for almost every kind of undertone. It’s really hard to find a perfect shade for myself because I do have yellow-ish & olive combo skin tone. I tweeted to Rachel [owner of Monet Minerals] about the different shades of mineral foundation. She tweeted back to me offering to send me a few samples. I really wasn’t expecting that at all. I’m not good at receiving gifts at all. And I still thank her for that.

I received 6 [not 5] little packets of mineral samples. I got 2 foundations & 4 MVPs [Monet Versatile Powders]. What I like about the MVPs is that you can use them for eyes, lips, cheeks & nails. I haven’t tried them on my nails yet, only because I don’t think I would know how. LOL. Anyway, on to the real review.

The foundations
I requested to try 2 shades of mineral foundations, Katie & Sacha. They’re Sacha is the medium shade for the yellow undertones & Katie is the medium shade for the olive undertones. Katie was a little too ashy for me, and Sacha was a little too yellow for me. I mixed them together & it’s my perfect shade. LOL It canceled each other out, kind of. The formulation is good. It’s really fine, not chunky, and blends well. As for the coverage, it didn’t really give me the coverage that I wanted. It wasn’t full coverage, but it wasn’t a light coverage. When it comes to foundations, whether it’s liquid, powder or mineral, I like them to have full coverage. My face was able to breathe, which is good because that means it didn’t clog my pores. As for longevity, it only stayed on my face for about 4 or 5 hours. I don’t really like reapplying foundation throughout the day, so that I didn’t like. Out of 5 stars, I’d give the foundation a 3.

The MVP [Monet Versatile Powder]
I love this product! Not only was the formulation fine like the foundation, but you can use it all over. I used the Pink Ribbon on my cheeks & Sugared Gold on my eyes & lips. When I applied it on my lips, I placed chapstick before, Sugared Gold MVP & then clear gloss. I actually got a few compliments on the color for the first hour or so. Since there was gloss on it, it didn’t last long. Only because I have a bad habit of pressing my lips together & licking them since I was a child. I think if you put a coat of clear lipglass on it from MAC, then it’d last a little longer.

I also got a Midnight Madness & Rockstar MVP. I only used the Midnight Madness on my eyes with the Sugared Gold. It was a great combination. Both Midnight Madness & Rockstar are very pigmented. Midnight Madness is like the color of a summer sky. That dark blue, almost black kind of color. Rockstar is this really gorgeous purple color that yes, EVERY rockstar should have! It’s like the ultimate couture purple color. I should’ve done swatches of all the colors, oops! I got too excited the day I got them, that I forgot to. Also, I’ve been busy, but I will!! Out of 5 stars, I’d give it a 5. Because of it’s versatility & colors.

Monet Minerals Overview
What I like about this company is that Rachel was very nice to let me know that there was a little delay on shipping. Only because her newest shipper forgot to put some postage on there. Which wasn’t a big deal. I’m really glad she messaged me on Twitter about that. Thank you, again! They also have 2 different sample sizes for all products & 2 different full sizes, which depends on the product.

The simplicity of the site, customer service & variety of shades sold me to purchasing in the future. So, yes! I do recommend Monet Minerals for those who are looking for new mineral makeup!

That’s it for the review. I hope it’s helped you out. I’d recommend it for the MVPs.

Here’s a photo of me that I posted on my dailybooth site the day I got it in the mail:

If you’d like to contact Monet Minerals, or have any questions, click here.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

